Today’s the Day!

I haven’t written lately because I’ve been busy. And if I haven’t been busy, I’ve been sad. And if I haven’t been either of those things, I’ve been packing. Or drinking coffee.

I’m spending my first night away from this house, away from L & A tonight. This might be the last blog post I may write here for a while. I’m terrified. I’m scared things will be weird between us now. I’m scared I won’t be able to talk to them about things I previously have been able to. I am so much going to miss their company and their love and support and hugs and general greatness.

I’m staying with a lovely lady called C Ā – then moving into my own place next February / March-ish. I don’t know what to say really. You might not understand how difficult this is – but if you understand how important this year has been in terms of my eating disorder recovery and how significant L & A have been in my recovery process, then perhaps you do.

So if you’re the praying sort, please pray. I know full well I can get through the next few days and weeks and months – but the point is that I’m not exactly sure how.

No other relevant things to say.

13 thoughts on “Today’s the Day!

  1. Bek,

    Your strength in getting this far with the eating disorder will see you through the next few days, weeks and months. Your folks won’t change – they will still love you the same, and you will love them as well…just the same. It’s a scary as hell time but you’re smart, Junior…you want it badly enough, you can acheive anything.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you xx

  2. Uncle Paul’s right Little Roo. You’ve grown and learned much more than maybe you know and you will be able to do this!

    Best of luck in this new stage. Life is an adventure and you are going to love it.

    Merry Merry, Little Sister,
    Harbro

  3. You are strong enough to get through this, Bek. I know how scary it is, but even though it feels like you’re leaving your support network behind, you’re not. Don’t be afraid to do what you need to do to take care of yourself during this time. If you need to call them a lot this week, then call them. If you need to meet someone for lunch, then meet someone for lunch. Maybe you could set it up so you have dinner at their house at the end of the week. I know none of these things changes the fact that you’re moving out, but little things like that really can make it easier. It’s hard to switch so abruptly, and often better to employ some transition strategies.

    • Thank you for making me feel like it really is okay to do those things. I get a sleepover here once a week and see them most days for this little transition-ey stage andddd they ring me before bed each night. They are far too good to me. X

  4. Dearest Bek,
    You are one tough little cookie! You will be absolutely fine. Keep thinking your happy thoughts and you’ll be ok. A & L will always be there for you, moving out won’t change anything apart from seeing them every day.
    I’m not one to pray but I’ll ask my lucky stars to make sure you’re looked after.
    You know that God doesn’t dish out anything you can’t handle. You’ll be okay chick, what doesn’t kill you will only make you stronger. You’ve come so far already, this is just the next chapter. Please don’t be scared. xxxxxxxx

  5. You can do this… one foot in front of the other, one day at a time.
    Can you make a standing lunch/dinner date with this family you’ve been staying with? Maybe every Sunday lunch or something? It sounds like you’ve been amazingly blessed by them (and I’m sure they’ve been blessed by you too, you seem so lovely!)
    Hang in there, I’ll be praying.

  6. Change is always dauting, but you’ve come so far. Think of all the steps you’ve taken and be encouraged.

    “Put your hand in the hand,
    Of the man who stilled the water.
    Put your hand in the hand,
    Of the man who calmed the sea.
    Take a look at yourself,
    And you can look at others diff’rently,
    By puttin’ your hand in the hand,
    Of the man from Galilee.”

    Sending you lots of love and support!

Leave a Reply

