Why Rebekah eats food (and why you should too!)

I used to watch people eating food and not understand. Why were they eating? Why were they eating more than necessary? Why were they eating such exotic foods? And how on earth could they actually eat something for pleasure? I used to ask A all the time why he was eating, much to his amusement and confusion.

So yeah, I was pretty stumped.

But anyway – now I have a whole list of reasons why I eat food. It’s pretty exciting! So if you’re the curious type or the eating disordered type and really have no clue at all why people eat and find it all rather fascinating really, this post is for you!

Why Rebekah Eats (and reasons you should too!)
1) The obvious. Food gives us energy to do all those mundane tasks we despise doing, like housework and study and driving and reading and lying down and sitting and breathing, and just being in general.

2) Our brains need food to function as they should. Not only just for study, but to be able to THINK, to converse with people, to articulate thoughts and ideas and emotions. Our brains also need food to think rationally, clearly and logically.

3) The wonderful feeling you get when you’re walking or swimming or running and you feel the stretch of your muscles; the burn as you push yourself a little – and oh how I hated that feeling when I wasn’t eating, because then it represented weakness – my body was craving fuel. Now it represents strength and my body is able to do the work I intend for it to do.

4) Hips are ridiculously lovely. Make friends with your hips. I can’t believeΒ  ever hated them. Eating food makes your hips happy.

5) I get hungry. And when I get hungry, I eat because that is what one does when they are hungry. Suppressing hunger is not normal, healthy or advised in any circumstance. Unless you’re fasting for a blood test. Which is different. So my point is, eat when you feel hungry and stop when you feel full.

6) Often I eat as a social thing – get a coffee with a friend and share some banana bread. Or go and celebrate a lovely persons birthday and eat Thai for dinner because it’s a special occasion and it feels good.

7) If you have an infection or flu or some other type of nasty, food can be useful in providing energy and vitamins and all that fun stuff. Even if you don’t feel like eating it, make yourself anyway. And don’t exercise, okay? No really, I have a cold and tonight I’m going to make me some lentil soup. So keen. So yes – follow suit, I dare you!

8) Eating food gives me an overwhelming sense of thankfulness. And it doesn’t end. I feel it at breakfast time, morning tea, lunch time, afternoon tea time, dinner time and supper time. And then I feel it all over again. Seriously. How is that NOT a reason to eat foodsies?

9) Food doesn’t just make your brain work or help you to do all the fun tasks of life – it also helps your INSIDES to work properly. You know, the ol’ heart beating, liver functioning, kidney/bowel/digestive system/every other system inside of you currently doing its job for you right this very moment. What a winner of a body you have.

10) There’s so much more I could ramble on with, but hot dang – how DELICIOUS is food? I like that God created food tasty so we could enjoy it – if He wanted it to be something we did just to stay alive, He probably wouldn’t have made it taste so good or given us taste buds at all. Top bloke.

If you struggle to see why people eat food, I hope this list has been somewhat thought-provoking for you. Perhaps make your own list – surely there are more pros than cons for food. Don’t let the eating disorder tell you otherwise.

Bek Xo.

10 thoughts on “Why Rebekah eats food (and why you should too!)

  1. I really like this Post Bek!
    Now that I am studying nutritional medicine, I’ve come to realise just how significant Food and Fuel is for the body πŸ™‚
    How can we possibly survive without and petrol in the tank, no wonder I was running on empty all the time . How good is being hungry and sitting down to a nice meal rather than running from it πŸ™‚

    • Thanks!

      Youre so right. I’m REALLY glad that you’re studying this and learning about it, it’s so easy to become obsessive about it when it really does not need to be obsessed over.

      And being hungry and sitting down to a lovely meal and keeping it down is actually one of my most favourite things ever πŸ™‚

  2. This is a brilliant post! I really like the list you have compiled. Thank you so much for this!!! πŸ™‚ Thank you for a brilliant blog! x

    • You are so kind! You should really give it a go sometime! And I’ve just started following your blog, thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment πŸ™‚ X

  3. These are all great points.

    Except #4. That freaks me out. πŸ˜‰ And I’m not very good at #5. Hungry? Full? Mostly they feel the same to me.

    I did, however, give a little squee of delight this morning when I realised I still had one banana left, and so I did not have to have banana-less porridge as I had feared. Lovely!

    • No, 4 is still a pretty good point πŸ˜‰ Seriously, what’s so wrong about them, really?They’re actually really lovely and unique and useful things. When I was eight I used to look at myself in the mirror and say that I’d like my body if I didn’t have hips – surely I didn’t even know the meaning of the word then!

      I think mindful eating will be a really good thing for you to look into.

      Yay! Banana-less porridge is average porridge. X

      • There’s nothing wrong with hips, I just don’t find them particularly lovely. They’re part of a whole package that I don’t really like at the moment, that’s all.

        Yeah, I’m kind of excited about eventually getting the hang of the mindful eating thing (even though most of me is enormously skeptical!)

      • That makes me sad. Anyway. I like my body as it is because that’s how it is when I eat in a normal and perfectly healthy way. So I guess that’s why my hips don’t bother me.

        Very true! Very impressive that you’re trying something new πŸ™‚ X

      • Honest answer? If they’re thinner than me, then maybe. Otherwise no.

        I think it’s okay to be skeptical as long as I try it anyway. If I waited to get rid of all my doubts and fears first I’d never try anything! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

