Appreciating Our Bodies.

Today I went for my first Spring swim and marvelled at what my body could do and at how amazing it felt to swim laps. I think it’s one of my main reasons for loving swimming so much: every time I swim, I become overwhelmed with gratitude. I can now get in a pool, swim laps without having to count every single one, stop and take a breather if I want to, don’t have to go at any particular speed, can get out whenever I feel like it and, best of all, don’t have to avoid eating afterwards. In fact, it’s one of the first things I do now! So as I was swimming and mulling over ideas for blogs, I thought this: our bodies are amazing. YOUR body is amazing. They do many, many things for us and really, most of the time we don’t even realise it. So hopefully, this blog post serves as a reminder of all your body does for you … and makes you very appreciative of that!

  • When you smile, you’re exercising at least 17 muscles. 17!
  • A quarter of the oxygen used by your body is actually used by your brain
  • Your heart beats around 1000000 times a day. To keep you alive. To allow you to move and breathe and be and do. Impressive, huh?
  • The lungs contain over 300,000 million capillaries (tiny blood vessels). If they were laid end to end, they would stretch 2400km.
  • In 30 minutes, the average body gives off enough heat (combined) to bring almost 2 litres of water to boil.
  • The human brain cell can hold 5 times as much information as the Encyclopedia Britannica
  • One human hair can support 99g – about the size of two full size chocolate bars. Rapunzel is actually a plausible story after all!
  • You get a new stomach lining every three to four days.
  • Sneezes regularly exceed 160 km/ph
  • Your nose can remember 50,000 different scents.
  • The strongest muscle in the human body is the tongue. Makes sense really, given we use it to talk, eat and swallow.
  • You use 200 muscles to take one step. 200! And on average, we take around 10,000 steps a day. We need fuel in the form of food for that, my friends!
  • Humans are the only animal to produce emotional tears.

I know sometimes it’s hard to believe it, particularly when our bodies are run down or exhausted, or when we’re sick and feel unwell or can’t run as far as we would like, or when we injure ourselves and the injury takes far longer than we’d like for it to recover … But our bodies are amazing. They do so, so very much for us and we don’t even realise. It’s astounding how strong and able our bodies can be when we look after them and fed them well. Of course there are things that can go wrong with our bodies that are unexplainable – but they’re still amazing. They still fight for us. And they’re still on our side – they aren’t our enemy. Yes, we are riddled with flaws and imperfections – but we ALL are. It’s part of the human condition. None of us are perfect, and none of us can ever be. So don’t our bodies deserve to be treated with respect? Don’t our bodies deserve to be fed adequately? Don’t our bodies deserve to be treated as important? I think so! Because YOU are valuable, so is your body and it deserves to be treated as thus.

Have I convinced you yet?

What are you thankful to your body for today?

Love, Bek X

P.S – check out some more excellent facts here!

10 thoughts on “Appreciating Our Bodies.

  1. I’m grateful for walking. πŸ™‚ It’s useful and it’s fun. I go walking once a week with a friend – we usually walk for an hour and I have no idea how fast we walk or how far or how many calories we’re burning. And I don’t care. I just know we have fun, looking at houses and gardens and parks… and talking. A lot. πŸ˜‰

    • Excellent! What a wonderful thing to be grateful for. And thanks again for making me realise that I really do need to be thankful for all my body does for me πŸ™‚ xo

  2. The timing of this blog is amazing. Thank you for posting.
    As of late, I’ve been marveling at that all I’ve put my body through, it continues to serve me. It continues to be healthy and strong. I am grateful beyond words, because it could have certainly crashed on me. Psalm 139:14 I embrace and repeat daily:
    I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.

    We all are fearfully and wonderfully made. We all are beautiful just the way we are.

    Prayers and blessings,
    Linda

  3. I am thankful for being able to push one of those huge, two-seater grocery carts through the store, with my 23-pound toddler and over $100 worth of groceries! I am thankful for tennis with my husband and kids. I am thankful for going up and down the stairs in our house for that forgotten blanket, that load of laundry, that book. I am thankful for walks with my friends and mom. I am thankful for exercise for the sake of endorphins and strength, not calories burned. I am thankful for taste buds and all the different, tasty things I’ve eaten today–for nourishment and sheer enjoyment. Rebekah, this was also well-timed for me. I had some really potentially destructive thoughts this week, and what got me back into a renewed way of thinking was the mighty privilege and responsibility I have to be a healthy example for my kids. I know they didn’t hear it from me, and I know they have no idea of the “weight” of their words, but both my kids asked “do I look fat?”…are you kidding me? My son is 7 and my daughter is not quite 3. Of course they asked it laughingly and didn’t linger on the subject (and both, for the record, are beautifully lean and strong), but it shot straight to my heart and reminded me of how careful my husband and I need to be about what we say, even if it’s meant jokingly! Thanks for all the great tidbits of info, which I can especially appreciate being married to a physician! God bless! Keep writing, and keep being grateful! God is amazing.

    • I’m so encouraged by your long list of thankfulness! Thanks for sharing it. And I’m really glad that this post was helpful for you. It is important to think about how younger children will be affected by the way in which we see and speak about our bodies; so, so vital. Such a powerful reminder and so important to be aware of it.

      Thank you! Xo.

  4. I’m thankful that my body is a tent for my spirit – it houses all I am inside, and the God who made me. My adopted daughter sometimes worries that something might happen to me and that I might not be able to look after her anymore. Her comments make me appreciate the importance of my body. I want to look after it. I realise how thankful I am for this body of mine; it enables me to love and hug, to wipe away tears, to play, to cook for and provide for my family. Thanks for this great reminder, Bek.

Leave a Reply

