Listening to Your Body’s Needs … And Responding Accordingly.

First blog post in near a month! I think this is perhaps the longest I have managed to go without writing something for all you lovelies. Be sure though, I will continue to blog about eating disorders as long as I still have things to say! And if you know me well… You’ll know I always have things to say.

Today’s post is about learning to listen to your body’s needs. It’s significant, regardless of if you have an eating disorder or not. Our bodies tell us when we’re hungry, when we’re full, when we’re tired, when we’re stressed, when we are thirsty, when we need to use the bathroom, when we’re scared –  the list is endless! They’re pretty impressive, our bodies! And it’s important that we keep tuned in to what our body has to say so that we can give it what it needs accordingly – so we don’t faint, so we don’t get burnt out or overloaded with stress, so we don’t stay up all night doing assignments and our brains barely function – we NEED to give our body what it asks for. It’s as simple as that.

For individuals in recovery from an eating disorder, this can be a terribly frightening thing, I know. In part, perhaps your ED was all about feeling too needy. Perhaps you didn’t want to be a human and have to need things and want things and be cared for and loved and have to eat food and have to be touched – perhaps you didn’t think you were good enough for any of those things. But let me tell you this: you ARE. You are valuable and you are human and you have needs and that is okay. Because we all do. These needs are essential to your survival. Needs are okay.

Perhaps your someone who doesn’t have an eating disorder, but you work ridiculously hard and you haven’t managed to find time to slow down in forever. Maybe you’ve noticed you’re more tired in recent times, you can’t concentrate at uni or in the work place or you are too stressed to be able to enjoy the time you spend with your friends or family, maybe your body is more achey and screaming out to you to slow down a little. Let me say THIS to you. It’s important that you DO slow down. If we never slow down, our body makes us. It might come out in the form of a flu or that awful headache that doesn’t go away for ages, or the achey neck that no massage seems to solve.

It’s important that you listen to your body, because eventually, if you don’t listen to it, it’s going to just make you slow down anyway. It’s important that you feed your body, because eventually it will make you eat anyway. It’s important that you sleep, because eventually it will make you sleep – and probably at the most inconvenient of times.

The thing is this: your body has needs. You deserve to listen to your body’s needs. It deserves to have its needs met. You’re the person who can meet them because you’re the person who makes the choices for their body.

So, if you’re not listening … Why not?

 

Love,
Bekah. X

P.S – I may have spent a lot of today horizontal. Because my body is tired. And my body wants rest. And so I’m giving it rest. With the end of year stuff all about to explode in my face in November, I’m taking every single opportunity for a break that I can. Body also wanted a mango –  lucky I had one handy 🙂

P.P.S – If my ramble was completely incoherent and I lost you somewhere along the way… listen to your body’s needs … and respond accordingly.

 

9 thoughts on “Listening to Your Body’s Needs … And Responding Accordingly.

  1. The rest and the mango sound lovely. My kids and I have been enjoying chunks of frozen mango lately–like bite-sized popsicles, sort of! Our bodies are indeed amazing in the way that we receive signals about everything! We are fearfully and wonderfully made! I was glad to read your post today.

  2. What a lovely post, thank you for sharing! You’re so right when you say that recovery is about giving your body what it needs. I like how you pointed out that giving it what it needs may be difficult both physically and emotionally because the crux of your ED may have been need deprivation. Again, thank you for sharing Rebecca!

  3. Reading your posts fills me with more light than my heart had before your words reached me. My blog is struggling itself, I find it hard to know what to write about and that is made harder knowing pretty much nobody is reading (the number of followers I have is dismal.) But I hope I manage to some day write something as worthy as the words you are documenting selflessly to help and inspire others. Thank you Bek x

Leave a Reply

